Skip To Main Content



Jesuit soccer added an extraordinary chapter to its storied history in 2019-20. The Tigers captured the program's seventh State title on Feb. 29, 2020, defeating Pembroke Pines Charter 5-4 in the championship game behind three goals by Zach Board '20. Head coach Eric Sims '95 and forward Carson Bien '20 were named the Coach of the Year and Player of the Year, respectively, in Class 5A for 2019-20. The seven titles are the most of any Jesuit sport, and the Tigers' total of 83 Region and State playoff victories are the most of any soccer program in Florida annals.

Founded in the mid-1970s, Jesuit soccer was a force by the '80s and captured State titles in 1987, '95, '97, '98, '99, '01, and '20. The middle five championships came under head coach Bob Bauman, who was inducted into the Florida Athletic Coaches Association (FACA) Hall of Fame in 2020, and the 2001 team also was honored as National Champions. Sims, who starred on the '95 champs, enters his 10th season as head coach in 2022-23. He has led the Tigers to District titles and the Region Final or farther in each of his first nine seasons. Jesuit soccer frequently has been nationally ranked (including in the Top 10 in 2018-19) and the Tigers have captured the District title 35 of the past 37 seasons entering 2022-23.

In the 2020-21 season, Jesuit advanced to the State Final before succumbing in OT to Miami Belen Jesuit. During the 2021-22 season, the Tigers went 21-4-1 winning another District Championship by defeating Osceola 1-0 and capturing the Region crown to reach the State Semifinal. The 2021-22 Tigers were led by Christian Fairchild '22 (16 goals, 8 assists), Ty Cabassa '22 (13 goals, 5 assists), Phillip Falcon '23 (16 wins and 14 shutouts in goal), and Eric Stanley '23 (11 goals and 3 assists). Jesuit's top returnees in 2022-23 include Ty Emdy '23, Dutch Iavarone '25Abi Lindblom '23, and Kai Rodrigues '23

Follow the Tigers on social media:

Twitter: @jhstigersoccer
Instagram: @jesuit_tigers_soccer
Livestream: on the Facebook page Jesuit Tiger Soccer



Carson Bien '20 was the 2020 recipient of the Jose A. Alvarez Award, given annually to the Hillsborough County Outstanding High School Soccer Player of the Year. It marked the eighth time in the award’s history - it was established in 1985 - that a Jesuit player won, and the 5th time in 10 years. 

Jesuit High School's Alvarez Award winners
Carson Bien '20
Connar Lufkin '16
Michael Conlon ’14
Brett Durrance ’12
Tyler Hartlage ’11
Justin Trowbridge ’01
Terry McCormick ’97
Brian Crane ’91 (co-winner)

2022-23 ROSTER

Go to for updated results and statistics.

Click here for a PDF of the 2022-23 Varsity roster, or view below:


Varsity Head Coach
Eric Sims '95,

  • 10th season at Jesuit in 2022-23.
  • 192-34-12 in eight seasons at Jesuit (2013-22).
  • 200-63-20 in 13 seasons at Gaither (2001-13).
  • 392-97-32 overall

Assistant Coaches
George Fotopoulos, Duke Dunnigan, Sean Connolly, Denis Lopez, Jon Koshko 

JV Head Coach
Duke Dunnigan