Skip To Main Content


National Honor Society

National Honor Society

Nine members of the Class of 2020 were inducted into the National Honor Society on Thur. Sept. 26 in a special early morning ceremony in the MPR.

The new NHS inductees, who join 107 others from the Class of 2020 who were inducted in the spring, are: Tyler Beach, Lex Capitano, Matthew Catchur, Lucas Gobea, Marino Matthews, Christopher Paniello, Michael Schellman, Nicholas Spurlin, and Britt Woods.

Jesuit's NHS officers presided over the ceremony: Spencer Farfante (president), Derek Pope, Mark Rumsey, Jean-Marc Becsey, and Bennett Andersen.

The inductees received their NHS certificate from principal Barry Neuburger and stole from president Fr. Richard C. Hermes, S.J.

The Jesuit chapter of NHS, led by faculty moderator Kathy Preble, recognizes students who have put forth great effort in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

In scholarship, students must achieve a cumulative GPA of 3.7. In service, they must meet a minimum requirement for service hours. Character and leadership are determined by faculty feedback measuring students' growth through their first three years at Jesuit, from the first day of freshman year, with emphasis on demonstrating leadership in the classroom, in clubs and in athletics.

The nine new inductees join their 107 classmates, who were inducted on Feb. 28, in Jesuit's chapter of NHS. The 116 total inductees from the Class of 2020 are a school-record total from one class, surpassing last year's previous high of 100.

Please see the photo slideshow from Thursday's ceremony below:


  • Academic News
  • All School News
  • Clubs News
  • Homepage News
  • Top 5