Skip To Main Content


Key Club Honored

Key Club Honored

For a half-century, Jesuit High School's Key Club has developed a proud tradition of outstanding service to the community. And in this year, the 50th since its founding at Jesuit, Key Club has been recognized with a slew of prestigious honors.

Last weekend (April 7) at the annual Key Club District Convention in Orlando, Jesuit was honored for across-the-board excellence with numerous top awards.

Jesuit was selected for the Distinguished Club Award from among more than 300 Key Clubs in the state, and Jesuit also earned the Governor's Project Award, for service requirements relating to the Governor's HEALTH Project.

Individually, Kyle Erickson '18 was named a Distinguished Club President; Thomas Turner '19 was named a Distinguished Lieutenant Governor; Tyler Petitt '19 was named a Distinguished Club Treasurer; and Phillip Thompson '19 was named a Distinguished Junior Class Director. (Thompson also recently received the Anne Frank Humanitarian Award from the Florida Holocaust Museum.)

Christian Jung '18 placed 2nd in Digital Poster, Petitt placed 3rd in the Project Display, and Trace Nuss '19 placed 3rd in the Oratorical Contest for his presentation about how our cultures, demographics, and experiences affect our perceptions and understanding of servant leadership, the Key Club pledge, and the Kiwanis Family.

Jordan Vivero '18 earned the People's Choice Award in the Talent Contest for his performance of "Bohemian Rhapsody," which generated a standing ovation from the 2,500 in attendance. Click here (or see below) a video of Vivero's performance.

In addition to collecting awards, the 16 Jesuit Key Club members in attendance, along with moderators Amy Martin and April Bombka and Kiwanis advisor Marty Koscso, participated in leadership workshops, District caucuses, service fairs, and shared ideas and experiences with the Key Club representatives from Belen Jesuit in Miami.

Representing Jesuit's Key Club in Orlando were: Turner – Lt. Gov. Division 14B, Erickson - President, Petitt – Treasurer, Nicholas Haskell '19 – Vice President Elect, Thompson - Junior Class Director, Michael Lennartz '18 – Sergeant in Arms, Sean Doherty '20 – Club Editor, Nuss – Secretary-Elect, Bryce Connolly '18 – Sergeant in Arms, T.J. Perez '19 – Webmaster Elect, Brennen Gil '20, Kegan Lovell '19, Vivero, Andrew Hanna '19, Guilson Chua '19, and John Cullaro '18.

A photo slideshow from the convention is below. Below the slideshow is the video of Vivero's performance.


  • All School News
  • Clubs News
  • Homepage News
  • Top 5