Skip To Main Content


Ignatius Scholars 2024

Ignatius Scholars 2024

Established in 2014, the Saint Ignatius Scholarship Program has committed hundreds of thousands of dollars to support top students at Jesuit.

Next school year, the merit-based tuition assistance program will reward four new Tigers from the Class of 2024: Ignatius Scholars James Slack of Williams Middle Magnet and Tyler Tyson of Lutz Preparatory Charter, and Loyola Foundation Scholars Ethan Hahn of Christ the King and Evan Rordam of Espiritu Santo.

Two students in each grade level at Jesuit are selected as Ignatius Scholars and receive an award worth half the cost of tuition for each of their four years at Jesuit (currently worth more than $8,000 annually).

Two students in each grade also are recognized as Loyola Foundation Scholars, and they receive an annual award of one-quarter the cost of tuition for four years (currently more than $4,000 annually).

The Saint Ignatius Scholarship Program is designed to attract and retain students of exceptional scholastic ability whose scores on the High School Placement Test (HSPT) as 8th graders are in the top 2% nationwide. Since the program's inception, 168 applicants have qualified for the award.

From that pool of finalists, candidates then submit an essay and letter of recommendation. They are evaluated on the basis of character, faith, service, and need. From there, the two Ignatius Scholars and two Loyola Foundation Scholars are selected. Those four scholarships combined for the Class of 2024 scholars are valued at about $25,000 annually.

All remaining finalists each receive a $1,000 financial award, which goes toward tuition at Jesuit their freshman year.

Each fall at a special Convocation (which is then followed by a reception with their families in Faber Hall), the Ignatius Scholars are recognized. In order to maintain their scholarships, the Ignatius Scholars and the Loyola Foundation Scholars must maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 4.0, complete all required community service by the designated dates, remain free of serious disciplinary sanction (i.e., notice or probation), and participate in at least one non-athletic school club or activity.

In addition to Slack and Tyson, the additional Ignatius Scholars at Jesuit in 2020-21 are: Dawson Kiser '21, Theodore Baier '22, Zachary Reich '22, Matthew Griffith '23, and Ayden Lee '23.

And in addition to Hahn and Rordam, the additional Loyola Foundation Scholars at Jesuit in 2020-21 are: John Paul Llanos '22, Jaden Nelson '22, Kyle Boyes '23, Carmine Sebastiano '23, and Jude Soriano '23.

For more information about the Saint Ignatius Scholarship Program, contact Admissions Director Steve Matesich '91 at (813) 877-5344, ext. 715, or email

  • Academic News
  • Admissions News
  • All School News
  • Homepage News
  • Top 5