Skip To Main Content


Graduation 2018

Graduation 2018

Jesuit High School graduated its Class of 2018 on Wednesday (May 30), as the school celebrated commencement exercises at the Straz Center in downtown Tampa.

The graduating class of the school's 119th year is comprised of 182 students. Of the graduates, 159 (88%) received academic, athletic, or service scholarships, and 139 (77%) received Florida Bright Futures Scholarships, with the total scholarship value exceeding $18.3 million. One-hundred percent were accepted into college, with 168 colleges/service academies accepting Jesuit students in 2018.

The class features three Valedictorians: Patrick Eberly, who will attend Georgetown University, Nathan Gimness, who will attend the University of Pennsylvania, and Matthew Tamashiro, who will attend the University of Florida. Please view below a video of each of the three Valedictorian presentations from graduation.

In keeping with one of Jesuit's earliest traditions, graduates once again wore the classic tuxedo. The tuxedos were revived at graduation in 2015 for the first time in more than 70 years. The traditional cap and gown were worn Tuesday night at Baccalaureate Mass.

Click here to view a PDF of the event program from Graduation 2018, which includes a listing of all 182 graduates, as well as the seniors who were recognized at Awards Night in late April; those recognized as summa cum laude, magna cum laude, and cum laude; and scholarships earned by members of the Class of 2018.

Each year, four special awards are presented during commencement exercises to recognize outstanding members of the graduating class. The recipients of these awards are determined by a vote of the faculty, and are commemorated on the 'Men for Others' monument on campus. The 2018 winners were announced by principal Barry Neuburger at graduation:

  • The Charles J. Lashley Award, for outstanding characteristics of leadership of the student body, the highest honor Jesuit High School confers upon a graduating senior: Tyler Peterson.
  • The Larion J. Elliot Award, for dedication and commitment to Christ and the Church through the example of his Christian Life: Sean Hughes.
  • The Pedro Arrupe Award, for excelling as a "Man for Others" through distinguished achievement in community service: John Robbins.
  • The Joseph P. Gavan Award, for outstanding generosity and dependability in service to the school community: Patrick Davis.

Please see below two photo slideshows from graduation, as well as a photo slideshow from Baccalaureate Mass. 

Below the photo slideshows are four videos: the valedictory addresses by Tamashiro, Gimness, and Eberly, and the President's address by Fr. Richard C. Hermes, S.J.







  • Academic News
  • All School News
  • Homepage News
  • Top 5